Minutes – LWV Appleton Board Meeting Gardens of the Fox Cities March 7, 2013

Present: Sara Companik, Miriam Douglass, Barbara Kelly, Carolyn Mewhorter, Penny Robinson, Shirley Strange and Irene Strohbeen

President Shirley Strange called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

The agenda was approved.

A motion to approve the minutes of the 2-7-2013 Board meeting was made by Carolyn Mewhorter and seconded by Barb Kelly. The minutes were approved as written.

<u>President's Report</u> – Shirley Strange received from Board members statements on the importance to the Appleton LWV of the State and National Leagues. The State League has suggested that local Leagues could gain visibility by presenting a Democracy Award. The next Board can decide whether to give an annual award, when and to what criteria to use. The 75<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Committee - Carolyn Mewhorter, Sue Eich, Marcia Hittle and Shirley Strange – met on February 15 to brainstorm ideas for a celebration. Other individuals will be contacted to help with specific areas.

<u>Treasurer's Report</u> – Barbara Kelly's report on finances as of March 3 was received and filed. She explained the 2013-14 budget. A motion to submit the budget to the membership was made by Carolyn Mewhorter, seconded by Irene Strohbeen and approved. It will be published in the March issue of The Informed Voter and considered by the membership at the Annual Meeting on May 16.

Membership Report - Stephanie Melaney was absent due to a full time job.

<u>RTA</u> – Carolyn Mewhorter reported that Federal Government funding will continue for two years. Anticipated state legislation on an RTA has not yet been introduced.

<u>Legislative Report</u> – Penny Robinson attended the LWVWI Legislative Committee meeting on February 27 which focused on Regional Transportation (support for additional funds for public transit and opposition to moving transit funds from the designated transportation fund to the general fund), Health Care (opposition to Gov. Walker's decision to turn down additional billions of dollars of Medicaid funds available under the Affordable Care Act), Campaign Finance, Natural Resources (discussion of state mining bill and federal farm bill) and Lake Michigan LWV (support of the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative).

<u>Local Study</u> – Miriam Douglass reported that at the general membership meeting on February 26 Colleen Rortvedt, the APL Director, gave an excellent presentation on important features in libraries designed for the 21<sup>st</sup> Century and what was learned from the Community Conversations with diverse groups from Appleton about their views on Appleton's strengths and hopes for its future. She also provided a tour of the library.

<u>Voter Service</u> – Irene Strohbeen reported that the Appleton Spring election Candidates Forums are now set for March 13; flyers were distributed to all. The press release has been sent out and it

should be posted on the website soon. A Voter Guide will be created based on candidate responses. Irene is compiling a step-by-step procedure to setting up local Candidate Forums for future reference.

Voter Registration Assistance sessions are being scheduled with the Appleton public high schools. Early Registration cut-off is March 14, but we can assist voters with their forms and documents beyond that date. Shirley Strange and Jacqui Klimeszewski have picked up the Voter Video project.

<u>Observer Corps</u> – There is controversy within the Appleton Common Council over payment of expenses for the new IT director to move to Appleton according to residency requirements.

<u>Program Report</u> – Sara Companik announced that the deadline for reports from Board members for the Annual Meeting Packet is May 2.

The Board approved the slate of candidates for 2013-2014 presented by the Nominating Committee - Jan Quinlan (Chair), Sue Eich, Nadine Miller, Irene Strohbeen and Penny Robinson. The membership will vote on the slate at the Annual Meeting.

President: Sara Companik 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President: Kim Wetzel Secretary: Lois Bressette Director 2 yr: Karen Jansen Director 2 yr: Jacqui Klimeszewski Director 2 yr: Gayle Hardt Director 1 yr: Miriam Douglass Nominating Committee (2014): Shirley Strange (Chair), Nadine Miller and Jan Quinlan

Continuing Board Members (year 2 of 2) are

Irene Strohbeen: Vice President Barb Kelly: Treasurer Stephanie Malaney: Director Penny Robinson: Director

<u>Communication Committee</u> – The deadline for newsletter articles is March 14 for publication on March 21.

<u>Around the Board</u> – No comments from members because the building was closing.

The meeting adjourned at 11:40 a.m.

## Next Board Meeting – April 2, Gardens of the Fox Cities

Respectfully submitted,

Miriam Douglass, Secretary